Final thoughts . . .

A busy and varied week.

What strikes me about all my volunteering engagements is the dedication, optimism and warmth of all the volunteers I meet.

And for this, my fourth annual volunteer week, I have visited a whole new range of organisations who have not featured in my previous volunteer weeks.  I think this demonstrates the breadth of opportunities their are for people to get involved in local life to the betterment of the whole community.

I said it last year but it is worth repeating – our area would be poorer without the work of volunteers and the volunteers told me that their lives would be poorer without the volunteering they do. That is why it is so important that we cherish, support and grow our voluntary groups.

Thanks again to all the organisations who hosted my visits and all the individuals who I met and made me so welcome.

Leave a Reply

